Too Tone NZ Music Month

Shop display of re-purposed NZ Music Month poster at Too Tone Records (2010-2017) in Dunedin.

Our New Zealand Music Month song for day # 18 is from “Dunedin’s finest. Anxious polka-punk. Alt-fizz. Subgressive fun-time fantasiangst” trio Negative Nancies. It’s from their thrilling and essential debut EP “You Do You” and the song is “I Wish”:

Negative Nancies “You Do You” is a disturbingly brilliant 6 song EP. “I Wish” alternates between a plaintive desire to remedy unconscious repetitive behavior (“I wish, I wish, I didn’t grind my teeth at night/ I wish, I wish, I didn’t hold my jaw so tight”) set over a galloping whip-crack beat and a rapid spiraling descent into a deeply weird nightmare of distorted keyboards, feedback bass and a cauldron of swirling voices. Negative Nancies music is natural noisy exploration and expression rather than an arch noise-art project and the EP ought to be resonating radio, speaker and headphone frequencies around the world.